Musical Wonderfulness: Mary Poppins

So last Wednesday (New Year’s Eve..Eve) I was accompanied by my Mom in witnessing the musical wonderfulness which is Disney & Cameron Mackintosh’s Mary Poppins in the Bord Gais Energy Theatre – A “supercalifragilistic” production, if I do say so myself (I’m apologise but more referencing is to come!).

We stayed overnight in the Ballsbridge Hotel in Dublin as a treat for my Mom, mainly to get away from our what can be a sometimes chaotic household as I have 4 younger brothers. It was nice to get away even if only for a night, to chill out, to unwind, to relax. The hotel itself was lovely despite it’s somewhat dated exterior which was a bit off-putting at first but all in all my experience was fantastic from start to finish. Checking in was quick and we found our room easily. We got a free bottle of wine along with a 3 course meal and breakfast included in our package, and let me just say, the food was gorgeous! It was like being on a “jolly holiday” with Mary Poppins herself. I could not fault the hotel or staff who were super helpful and friendly in any way at all. I would highly recommend this hotel and my Mom agrees that we will definitely be staying here again when we come back up to see Lord of the Dance in June.

 

image

Top L-Bottom R: The Bord Gais Energy Theatre, The wine that was left in our room, The outfit I wore to the musical & a quick snap before the show started.

The show opened up with the extremely talented Matt Lee as my favourite and most loved character from the story – Bert singing the well known “Chim Chim Cher-ee” and it only got better and more magical from there from the entrance of the gorgeous Zizi Strallen as Mary Poppins, to the extreme details put into the set and its design, to Mrs. Corry and her golden gingerbread stars, and to the emphasis created by the song “Anything Can Happen”. It was a truly inspiring and well produced musical which really captures what I think P L Travers herself would’ve wanted to see done with her beloved Mary Poppins and the Banks family. Having not been a huge fan of the movie itself I have fallen in love with the story from witnessing this musical masterpiece. It was mind-blowingly fantastic and “practically perfect” in the sense that I almost shed a tear a few times at just how beautiful the production as a whole was. If you ever get the chance I would definitely go see it. In fact, I would 110% go see it again if I could.

img_20151231_110836

Lucy x

 

Leave a Reply

